Just Some Destress Cooking

by nchen35

September 8, 2012.

So I am back at Brown and have so far struggled and survived through the first three days of shopping period. I forgot how crazy it gets: the back to back classes that you’re not sure you’re interested in/that you want to take, the iffy professors that you sit through but are too nice to leave for, the no-time-for-food, and the lost freshman! As a W, though, I am totally loving my role this year. My freshman have come to me stressed and asking about classes, W related stuff, and the like – and though I should not really be excited about that, I am. Compliments and money for condoms don’t hurt either. I’m also really just looking forward to doing a better job as a W this year. I think last year, I was scared and not yet ready to be that first-encounter person or that first-responder. But this year? I think I got this. :)

Being off meal plan has also kind of been great. There’s some kind of independence vibe/feeling that you get from planning your meals and cooking for yourself. Not to mention the calming aspect of having a set schedule and being able to take some time away from work. I definitely learned from V this summer how to plan out meals for a week, how to cook efficiently, and how to cook balanced meals. I am now successfully addicted to kale and cute, easy-to-put-together sandwiches. Nbd.

Image

Hummus, ham (works better for turkey, but ham was on sale so… ham it was), and sprouts on wheat bread.

That, and meals that work for lunch and dinner are beautiful. This pasta salad? Genius! Even without the feta – that was bad and had mold in it when I opened it slash when V opened it… yes, not pleasant. But, it still turned out great! And how could I resist adding an Asian vibe to it with scallions?

Mediterranean Chicken Pasta Salad (fromĀ For the Love of Cooking, a new cooking blog favorite):

Salad:
1/2 cup farfalle pasta
1 chicken breast, marinated with 1/6 cup olive oil, 1.5 tbsp lemon juice, a small garlic clove (minced), 1 tsp oregano, and salt and pepper to taste… and then hand shredded
1 cup grape tomatoes, halved
1 cup olives, pitted and halved
1/2 cup red onion, sliced thin
1/2 cup feta cheese (well not this time…)

Vinaigrette:
5 tbsp olive oil
juice of 1 small lemon
1 clove of garlic, minced
1/4 tsp oregano
sea salt and cracked pepper, to taste

Make the vinaigrette first and let it sit while you prepare the rest of the salad. Cook the pasta al dente. Combine the rest of the ingredients in a large bowl, toss in the pasta and the vinaigrette, and mix! And then consume delightfully. :)

Mediterranean Chicken Pasta Salad

Delish. And now back to some real school work… Or no – maybe some UNIT WARS!